all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

Amesbury -> Stonehenge -> Bath

with one comment

Accomodation is one of the major factors on whether I enjoy my holiday or not and I know it make seem rubbish to people since we hardly spend time in the room besides sleeping but I do enjoy a good shower and nice fluffy pillows.

Obviously we had to stay in B&Bs due to location and budget, but I’m glad this family room we got at George Hotel was better than we had expected!

 The morning after, as the surroundings were actually quite peaceful and beautiful, we decided to take some photos before leaving for Stonehenge!

An old couple took this for us and they were so cute! On the left, we weren’t smiling at the camera but actually talking to the old man while the lady took the photo for us lol.

Stonehenge is probably the most important prehistoric monument in the whole of Britain and has attracted visitors from earliest times. It stands as a timeless monument to the people who built it. The stonehenge that we see today is the final stage that was completed about 3500 years ago. (http://www.stonehenge.co.uk/history.php)

One of the many reasons I love traveling is that there are just so many amazing things to be seen!

 I still remembered during the initial planning of our trip, some had not wanted to come here which was why we spilt into 2 groups. So glad that I did manage to come after all because it was one of the highlights for me. They ain’t just stones, yo!

 Moving on to Bath…

Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage city and I can see why with its beautiful Georgian architecture. It was a pity (to me, at least!) that we did not visit the Roman Baths because everyone felt it was too expensive, at £12.00 per ticket.

Did some shopping around the area (think Ted Baker, House of Frasers, Banana Republic ;)) and finally rested at The Fudge factory, a cute cafe that serves delish fudge.

It was my first time trying a caramel apple and definitely not the last! Love the taste of the sourness of the green apple together with the intoxicating sweetness of the caramel 😛

The warm glow of the evening sun turned the leaves golden as we were leaving and it was a splendid sight. Why don’t we ever have such views in Singapore?!

Took us some time to find our next B&B because it was so dark by the time we reached but thank goodness we still managed to find it. Can’t imagine if we have to find alternative sources of B&B so last minute =/ Holly House was super comfortable and cosy. Thank goodness for tripadvisor, it has certainly been of great help while we were planning.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g186283-d660338-Reviews-Holly_House_B_B-Bourton_on_the_Water_Cotswolds_Gloucestershire_England.html

Writing about it makes me feel like I’m still there somehow, and I know I will return there someday.

Written by whitepaperroses

November 3, 2011 at 2:14 PM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love your blog, you have great photos and you write nice. old bookmark 🙂
    visit me friend!
    love,
    http://thepileofstyle.blogspot.com/

    Isabella Eclaires

    November 8, 2011 at 3:52 AM


Leave a Reply

