all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

Bourton-on-the-water -> Kenilworth Castle

leave a comment »

I keep telling myself that I should do a post at least once every 2 days but things just kept me busy =/

So right, we were at Holly House for the night…and look at their beautiful place they had for breakfast! Exactly how I had imagined B&Bs to be *blissful sigh*

After breakfast, we checked out and walked to Bourton-on-the-water and we had to pass this lane that was lined with glistening autumn leaves. How to pass on the chance for more photos?! lol…

Regularly voted one of the prettiest villages in England, Bourton-on-the-Water has more than its share of Cotswold houses and cottages, many of them three hundred years old, some dating back to Elizabethan times four hundred years ago. (http://www.bourtoninfo.com/)

It felt almost surreal that I was in such a village, it seems so far away, so different from Singapore. How queer it is, that while we are busy slogging our lives away, there’s people strolling along a lake somewhere or having tea in a small tea room, perhaps sharing a few recipes here and talking about the weather.

I feel like if I lived in such a place, if you tell me that there’s war, unrest, poverty, hunger and more sufferings elsewhere, I would not believe you at all!

Leaving the lovely village on to Kenilworth Castle next.

Blue skies I would never get tired of. 

The vast medieval fortress of Kenilworth Castle is one of the largest historic visitor attractions in the West Midlands and one of the most spectacular castle ruins in England. The ruins are best known as the home of Robert Dudley, the great love of Queen Elizabeth I. Dudley created an ornate palace here to impress his beloved Queen in 1575. (http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/kenilworth-castle/)

We explored the ruins, a place I thought was not interested at all, till I read the history about it. It is rather long so if you are interested, you can click on this link. I imagined myself being Queen Elizabeth I, being Robert Dudley, or even his wife to get into the mood :p Alas, the trouble of love triangles.

The Victorians in Britain believed that if a Ladybug alighted on your hand, you would be receiving new gloves…..if it landed on your head, a new hat would be in your future, and so on. (http://www.hkhk.edu.ee/nature/ladybird_legends.html)

Oh and below in this series of photos, I was trying to blow a dandelion to find out the time (too influenced by Enid Blyton heh ;)) and Chong was trying to be irritating to spoil my photo and I had to shoooo him away hahahaha!

 Another funny peekture. Company is really important when you are out on a holiday. Nobody wants to be around people who are too serious! I am saying this because sometimes I can get too serious and ask the most ridiculous questions, ever.

And then, it’s back to the roads heading to Lake District where we had planned to stay for 3 nights!

Written by whitepaperroses

November 8, 2011 at 1:20 PM

Leave a Reply

