all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

Welcome to Praha!

with 2 comments

After England, we were due to spend the next 4 days in Prague. I heard so many things about Prague that I had high expectations. Honestly, till now I still can’t decide if it met my expectations or not. I loved and hated that city.

I love the uneven roads, the winding streets, Charles Bridge, Prague Castle but I hate how touristy the whole place has become! ūüė¶ Still, I guess the sights seen were worth the jostling at Charles Bridge, Old town, St Vitus etc.

We stayed at Hostel Bridge which is located in Old town just 2 mins walk away from Charles Bridge. The location was wonderful but it was definitely not hotel material. More like a home, an old home. At least it was safe and clean. Sigh. I yearned for the day when I can stay in 5-star hotels wherever I go :p

Settled for lunch at one of the tourist places and were ripped off, but we were all hungry and lazy to walk any further. Friends had warned that it would be better to stick to normal Western food, but what’s the point of being here and not trying local food?!

Definitely unusual, and not my type of food. I would love to dismiss it, but I know that tastes are acquired and one man’s meat is another’s poison.

After, we headed to the famed Astronomical Clock and roamed about Old Town for a bit.

The Astronomical Dial shows the medieval perception of the Universe: the Earth is the center. The blue part of the dial represents the sky above the horizon, the brown part the sky below it. There are Latin words ORTVS (east) and OCCASVS (west) written above the horizon, andAVRORA (dawn) and CPEPVSCVLVM (twilight) below. There is a Zodiac ring, which represents the stars in the sky and it moves according to it. The two clock hands bear the signs of the Sun and the Moon. 
There are three circles on the dial, showing different time: the outer circle with Schwabacher numerals shows the Old Czech Time (‚ÄúItalian Time‚ÄĚ), the circle with Roman numbers shows the Central European Time and the inner circle with Arabic numerals shows the ‚ÄúBabylonian Time‚ÄĚ: the length of an hour differs there according to the season ‚Äď it is longer in the summer, shorter in the winter. The Prague Astronomical Clock is the only one in the world able to measure it. Furthermore, the little star by the zodiac ring shows the sidereal time.

(http://www.prague.cz/astronomical-clock/)

The guns were part of an art gallery and it made shooting sounds whenever someone passes it. Totally cool!

And Charles Bridge to end our day.

I took many photos, plus it’s so beautiful I think it deserves a post on its own so stay tuned! ūüėČ

Written by whitepaperroses

November 26, 2011 at 10:19 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awesome writing style!

    Johnie Abdella

    December 12, 2011 at 5:01 PM

  2. Love your blog!

    Stephine Scobee

    December 12, 2011 at 6:00 PM


Leave a Reply

