all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

Shanghai Part 1 – The Bund

leave a comment »

I went to Shanghai in early December when it was between 2 – 10 degrees C. It was my second time there, and definitely not the last since T’s parents are staying there. In fact, we are thinking of heading over there for Chinese New Year next year. I’m not too keen because I am afraid of the cold but on the other hand, I know that he hasn’t been back for a few years and I do want him to have his reunion dinner 🙂

I went to the same places as I did on my first visit because it was raining heavily the first time and we did not enjoy ourselves at all. This time round, the weather was pretty good, with the strong sunshine so I got to truly experience slowly walking along The Bund and taking many photos.

The Bund is one of the most recognizable architectural symbols of Shanghai.  The word ‘bund’ derives from an Anglo-Indian word for an embankment along a muddy waterfront and that is what it was in the beginning, when the first British company opened an office there in 1846. It became the epitome of elegance during Shanghai’s history as a city of trade. Now many attractive new constructions have been erected in addition to the historical buildings. A 771-metre long retaining wall for flood control was built. Atop the wall is a spacious walkway for sightseeing. Paved with colorful tiles and dotted with flower beds and European-style garden lights. It is a good place for a leisurely stroll and a view of the Huangpu River.

(http://www.chinahighlights.com/shanghai/attraction/the-bund.htm)

I’m loving my red Riverisland satchel that I got from Asos! It was retailing for SGD$120 in Singapore boutique but it was discounted and with a coupon, I got it for around SGD$70! 😀 It is super roomy and the inner satin lining is a nice touch.

To cross the river, you can choose to take the boat (covered and air-conditioned) for 2yuan or 5, I can’t remember or you can take the expressway which costs much more and there’s no scenery at all. Another way would be to take the train but that would be more troublesome since you have to walk to the train station (5-10minutes walk).

We took the boat and went to Grand Hyatt for a coffee. It was on the 87 floor so we got a spectacular view. A bit disappointed that the fog spoilt the view…stupid pollution 😦

Would recommend those who want to see the view to go there because it’s comfortable, rather than going to 88 floor or 东方明珠 where you have to pay an entrance fee.

And the view at night…or should I say evening because it was 6pm when I took the photo below. Days are so short in winter!

Written by whitepaperroses

January 25, 2012 at 3:50 PM

Leave a Reply

