all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

Garnier Perfect Fit & Relax Whitening Mask Review

leave a comment »

I got this for ~$2 at Cold Storage while it was on sale. I have never tried Garnier’s masks before so I am curious as how it would compare to Neutrogena, My Beauty Diary etc. The ‘whitening’ part is the push I needed to get the mask because I am a sucker for anything that claims to be whitening.

A lot of people have this misconception of whitening products, thinking that they don’t need it if they are fair. While first of all, if you are fair, I would say ‘Congrats’. Chinese have a saying ‘一白遮三丑‘ which means if you are fair, it supercedes at least 3 facial flaws about you.

However, whitening products serve to BRIGHTEN your skin, lightening pigmentation spots and acne scars. Even if you seriously do not see any spot on your face right now (to that, again ‘congrats, please let me know what your skincare routine is), you SHOULD still use whitening products because some spots might be developing under your skin *evil grin

Right, so on to my thoughts….Although it stated ‘Perfect Fit’ on the packaging, it wasn’t a perfect fit for my face. The nose area was too long, and the mouth area a little too small but I managed to pull a little here and there to make it sit on my face nicely. However, a few minutes later my eyes starting tearing 😦 I had this experience once with another mask (which I can’t remember which one, sorry!) so I knew that all I had to do is to use a tissue paper to blot away the excess essence at the eye area so that it wouldn’t sting my eyes anymore.

I wonder if it’s because of the lemon extract.

The mask was left for around 20 minutes, and my skin felt more moisturized. I then use a tissue to pat away the excess essence and that’s it. If your skin is dry and you are looking for something moisturizing, this is probably not the mask for you. Look for products that say ‘hydrating’ or contains hyaluronic acid. However, if you have oily skin and would like some whitening effect, you can give this a try!

Hope the information had been useful, and let’s all work hard towards good skin! 🙂

Written by whitepaperroses

February 27, 2012 at 1:42 PM

Posted in beauty review

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

