all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

It’s Tea Time!

with 5 comments

The week before I started my new job, I went for afternoon tea at TWG @ Marina Bay Sands.

An interesting story I found – about how afternoon tea came about 😉

Legend has it that afternoon tea was started in the mid-1800s by the Duchess of Bedford. Around this time, gas or oil light was introduced in wealthier homes, and eating a late dinner (around eight or nine PM) became fashionable. At the time, there were only two meals each day — a mid-morning, breakfast-like meal and the other was an increasingly late dinner-like meal.The story goes that the Duchess found herself with a “sinking feeling” (likely fatigue from hunger during the long wait between meals) and decided to have some friends over for assorted snacks and tea (a very fashionable drink at the time). The idea of an afternoon tea gathering spread across high society and became a favorite pastime of ladies of leisure. Later, it spread beyond the highest elites and became more accessible for some other socioeconomic groups. (http://coffeetea.about.com/od/historyculture/a/High-Tea-Vs-Afternoon-Tea.htm)

As much I enjoy sitting at nice cafes sipping teas and having a scone, I haven’t done it much because I don’t have friends who are as free as me. So I have never tried TWG before, despite it being a fairly popular place in Singapore with several outlets all at prime locations.

And of course, I adore that experience – picking at my scones, spreading it with whipped cream and jam and sipping the tea. It is very tempting for me to get nice china to put at home so I can replicate the experience every weekend afternoon.

Unfortunately, I have started work already which is why I am not blogging as frequently. I am slowly getting used to it and hopefully everything will go on smoothly! Need to earn more money for the finer things in life, and also to pay for the wedding.

Written by whitepaperroses

March 20, 2012 at 11:00 PM

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I keep reading about this place, it looks lovely and those scones look delicious.

    tearoomdelights

    March 21, 2012 at 3:14 AM

    • oh yes it’s a lovely place to have tea especially with the varieties, but the prices are a little on the high side (for me at least!)…the scones were nice but the best scones I’ve had were in England =p

      whitepaperroses

      March 21, 2012 at 7:20 AM

  2. Your post just made me caved for some scones!!

    Joey Chong

    March 21, 2012 at 8:45 PM

  3. Great pictures!

    virginiaplantation

    May 13, 2012 at 11:19 AM


Leave a Reply

