all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

Life

with 2 comments

A group of alumni, highly established in their careers, got together to visit their old university professor. Conversation soon turned into complaints about stress in work and life.

Offering his guests coffee, the professor went to the kitchen and returned with a large pot of coffee and an assortment of cups – porcelain, plastic, glass, crystal; some plain looking, some expensive, some exquisite. He told his guests to help themselves to the coffee.

After everyone had a cup of coffee in hand, the professor said, “If you noticed, all the nice looking, expensive cups have been taken up, leaving behind the plain and cheap ones.

“While it is normal for you to want only the best for yourselves, that is the source of your problems and stress. Be assured that the cup adds no quality to the coffee. In most cases, it is just more expensive, and in some cases, even hides what we drink.

“What all of you really wanted was coffee. But you consciously went for the best cups. And then you began eyeing each other’s cups, to see who had the best one.

“Now consider this: Life is the coffee; the jobs, money and position in society are the cups. They are just tools to hold and contain Life. And the type of cup we have does not define, nor change, the quality of life we live.

“Sometimes, by concentrating only on the cup, we fail to enjoy the coffee. Savor the coffee, not the cups!

“The happiest people don’t have the best of everything. They just make the best of everything.

“Live simply. Speak kindly. Care deeply. Love generously.”

– Author Unknown

****************************

I have seen this story before but now that I have grown older, it just makes me realize how important it is to really stop and smell the roses.

I would say that taking the half a year break (before starting on this new job) was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I started to really drink my coffee instead of just gulping it down while reading my emails, I exercised more often and regularly, I baked and read more, I did all the things I like and my temper was much better instead of always being impatient all the time.

And most importantly, I travelled. Extensively, if you remember all my traveloges. When I was young, travelling was about buying all the things I cannot get in Singapore. Now, I will stil buy things that I can’t get in Singapore but that’s no longer the highlight. The trip is all about pretending to live in that country and live life like they do 😉 of course, I do a lot of touristy stuff as well…all the fun is there no?

Really should try and remind myself from time to time not to be too caught up in work and chasing after all the material things…Have you taken the time to savor your coffee recently? 🙂

Written by whitepaperroses

May 24, 2012 at 12:25 PM

Posted in musings

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like that story.

    budziak

    May 25, 2012 at 12:10 AM

    • yes me too!! I know it’s really popular but just thought that I should share it again too so everyone get reminded of the importance of enjoying life itself 🙂

      whitepaperroses

      May 25, 2012 at 9:39 PM


Leave a Reply

