all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

The ‘Use-it-up’ Project (11) – September Edition

leave a comment »

My favorite part of the month! Even if I can’t find the motivation to blog about other things, I will try to do this. Maybe in future you will only see monthly updates haha just kiddng :p

Managed to hit the quota of 5 things by using up some samples. Is that considered cheating? =o

1) M.A.D Minerals – Indelible Crease-Proof Waterproof Smudge-Proof Creme Eye Shadows in Apricot Frost

why did I buy it? I wanted to get their pigments so I thought why not give this a try too? At that time, I remembered I just started using makeup and was open to all kinds of products. Actually I am still that way now, just that it has become an addiction now.

first impressions? loved the color, and applied rather smoothly but somehow I never used it a lot. Guess I was just too distracted by many other new products that I was constantly purchasing *hangs head in shame*

upon finishing? I feel that it dried out really quickly. I didn’t finish this actually, and I have no idea why I didn’t chuck this out earlier. This project is helping me in tiny ways by clearing some of my unused makeup yay 🙂

2) Kiehl’s – Calendula Herbal Extract Toner

why did I buy it? got it in June’s Bellabox.

first impressions? I was really excited to try this out because I’m starting to discover the wonders of toner and this is supposed to be a cult product plus it was raved by Kaykay as well. But after finishing the Clinique toner, this felt too mild for my skin. Plus the flowers petals got a little too annoying for me because for the last few uses, I felt like I was struggling to get more product out while the petals were right there in my way.

upon finishing? won’t repurchase this since it’s just meh for my skin but I am looking to try out other Kiehl’s toners.

3) TheFaceShop – the smim Toner

why did I buy it? got it along with the many samples I received from TheFaceShop while I was in Seoul. Mega hearts Korean shops for being so generous with giving out samples!

first impressions? Feels really refreshing! I don’t have any full size toners now so I am using up these sample sizes (8ml/bottle). A few more bottles to go.

upon finishing? I may look to purchase this in future as it does hydrate and cleanse my skin well, has a nice smell too! The only thing I don’t like about it I seem to have to use a lot of it? Or it might be due to the fact that this is a small bottle, so the contrast just seems huge haha.

4) Skinfood – Aloe Water Eye&Lip Remover

why did I buy it? One can never have enough of eye makeup removers. Bought it while I was in Seoul as well.

first impressions? takes too much effort for me to try to remove my eye makeup!

upon finishing? I did learn how to use it a little better, like holding it for a few more seconds than I usually would for other removers, and also I learnt that certain eyeliners can’t be removed well with this (for example, BareMinerals pencil liner). One good thing is that it is very gentle for the eyes, so I guess if you have very sensitive eyes and use little eye makeup you could give this a try. If not, you might be like me finding it difficult trying to finish this bottle and being frustrated every time it doesn’t remove the eye makeup well!

5) TheBodyShop – Neroli Jasmin Shower Gel

why did I buy it? it was just something that I got during their sale because I remembered trying it before and liking the scent. So I thought I could get it and use it for travel.

first impressions? I love jasmine smells. I have a lot of friends who don’t like it but scents are very subjective.

upon finishing? I am actually using the full sized bottle now :p It leaves a very faint smell on my body but it doesn’t last long and there’s no conflicts with my perfume so that doesn’t really bother me.

 

*********************

And that’s it for this month! I am so excited about my upcoming honeymoon that I can’t stop smiling to myself the entire afternoon. Just thinking about getting to see T again, and chilling by the pool with cocktails…of course, holidays always put me in a good mood.

I have also started picking up reading again and am currently on Cold Tangerines: Celebrating the Extraordinary Nature of Everyday Life by Niequist, Shauna. Right now, there is a story that I like very much and a few phrases that totally strike a chord in my heart. Will share them when I finish the book.

Ok I am off to bed now. X

Written by whitepaperroses

October 3, 2012 at 12:26 AM

Leave a Reply

