all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

The ‘Use-it-up’ Project (12) – October Edition

with 2 comments

Hi all! I’ve had a productive start to my weekend instead of lazing around as usual and catching up on my shows. So far since last night, I tried a gingerbread man recipe for Christmas, baked a small batch of chocolate chip cookies to use up the remaining butter, tidied my eyeshadows section (finally everything looks more organized!), and now I am blogging! 😀

Oh and can you believe that it’s been a year since I started Project ‘Use-it-Up’? I can’t believe it myself! 

1) Bioderma – Makeup Remover (Sebium)

why did I buy it? since I use a makeup remover almost everyday, I am always on the lookout to try new ones to compare. Bioderma has very good reviews among youtubers and beauty bloggers so I decided to give it a try when I saw it on 20% off!

first impressions? removes makeup really well and is even gentle enough to use on my eyes!

upon finishing? I am seriously impressed and has even started on my second bottle. As someone who switches makeup removers very often, I must say that I have finally found a holy grail and won’t be switching in the near future. It is slightly more expensive but it leaves my face really clean and refreshed without feeling tight. Major love!

2) Clinique – Take the Day Off Makeup remover for lids, lashes and lips

why did I buy it? part of the Clinique travel set I got because I wanted to try out their products. This is the last product of the set! I have officially completed everything yay 🙂

first impressions? removes eye makeup really well and doesn’t sting my eye. *thumbs up

upon finishing? I really like it and won’t mind purchasing it in the travel size again but to purchase it in the full size, I am not really sure if it is worth it as I feel that I go through eye makeup removers too quickly that I am not willing to spend too much on them! *stares at Lancome Bi-Facil’s product image*

3) Biore – Cleansing Oil Cotton Sheets

why did I buy it? Like I mentioned, I love to try out different makeup removers and there were a few blog advertorials on this so I decided to give this a try.

first impressions? I have never liked makeup wipes but I do feel that it is slightly better than the others that I have tried before which tends to be on the dry side. However, I felt that 1 sheet is too small for my whole face but 2 sheets will be too much!

upon finishing? I actually have a few sheets left but it has dried up because I didn’t seal it properly. I suppose this will be a good alternative if you are feeling lazy, or on light makeup days. However, I don’t think I will be repurchasing it as I want to try out other makeup wipes! Have already bought Simple makeup wipes and after finishing those, I will be wanting to try out Garnier’s. I tend to take a longer time to finish up wipes though, since I don’t use them as often.

4) Benefit Skincare – Moisture Prep Toning Lotion

why did I buy it? part of the 6-piece trial kit I got off ASOS because I wanted to try out Benefit’s skincare.

first impressions? a little thicker than what I am used to but it does feels very gentle on the face.

upon finishing? I don’t really have an opinion on this product because it is very meh. I don’t see any improvements in my skin and there is no wow factor for me at all.

5) Benefit Skincare – Foamingly Clean Facial Wash

why did I buy it? part of the 6-piece trial kit I got off ASOS because I wanted to try out Benefit’s skincare.

first impressions? it’s got a really nice smell and cleanses well.

upon finishing? I do like the smell a lot and it is very gentle on the skin. I am on the fence on whether I will purchase the full size or not, but probably not because I would want my cleanser to have more skincare properties for example anti-blemish or whitening etc.

6) Heroine Make – Eyelash Glue

why did I buy it? After going through a few tubes of Ardell’s eyelash glue, I decided that it was time for a change! I wanted to go for DUO but actually I forgot how I ended up getting this. Probably because I can’t locate DUO. Which I know now, can be found at all SASAs.

first impressions? it doesn’t stick well at all and I had to touch up a few times a day! 😦 Also the brush is very hard and I often find myself depositing more product than I need to. For people who use eyelashes often, depositing a lot of glue is something you won’t want because you won’t be able to reuse your lashes as many times and also it becomes very obvious and gets uncomfortable quickly.

upon finishing? After using it for a while and the glue has somehow dried up a little inside, the staying power became better. However, the opening of the tube tends to have a lot of glue around it as it doesn’t have stopper so I really don’t like that. I also read somewhere that we are supposed to put the lashes on immediately after applying the glue, instead of waiting for a minute or so for the glue to be tacky. That seemed to help but overall, I don’t enjoy the glue enough to repurchase it. Just takes too much work for me to try and make it work!

7) Dove – Hairfall Combing Serum

why did I buy it? This was bought when I was going through a hair products phase 😀

first impressions? Too oily for my hair! Did manage to smooth out my hair and detangle it pretty well though.

upon finishing? I found out the trick is to use a smaller amount as compared to my other hair treatments since it is of a thicker consistency. I like to use it in the mornings on dry hair to detangle it, but I don’t use it if I am going to curl my hair. This is because the MUA who did my makeup for my wedding day said that putting oil products will cause the curls to lose shape at a faster rate so I will just go ahead and use heat protectant. My favorite hair treatment on dry hair has been Skinfood’s Argan Oil but I can’t seem to find mine anywhere after I have shifted house! Will probably get a new one very soon since I have got friends heading over to Korea 🙂

Ok I am off to tidy my face products! Really need to get rid of some blushers but I just can’t seem to make up my mind which 😦

Have a happy weekend everyone Xx

Written by whitepaperroses

November 3, 2012 at 1:42 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. love your project use it up idea!! i should start doing something like that.. i buy way too much stuff and never finish it!

    hey...i LOVE your lipgloss!

    November 4, 2012 at 7:09 AM

    • let’s motivate each other! I found that this has really helped me to be more focused on using up products and also keep myself in check when purchasing new products. hope you are having a great weekend!

      whitepaperroses

      November 4, 2012 at 5:21 PM


Leave a Reply

