all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

The ‘Use-it-up’ Project (13) – November Edition

with 5 comments

Oh man! I am late this month again :p

How have your first 3 days of December been? I am really into the holiday mood, putting up christmas lights in the house and being really happy. Seriously love this time of the year!

IMG_2649

So this month, I feel like I have used up a variety of products and am really proud of myself because some of these products like the foundation and exfoliator, I have the littlest amount in them for the longest time ever but I just can’t seem to finish it.

IMG_2650

1) Evian – Facial Spray

why did I buy it? I love having facial sprays near me to hydrate my skin.

first impressions? just a regular facial spray.

upon finishing? Now that I have branched out and tried other brands of facial sprays, I definitely prefer La Roche Posay simply because it dispenses a finer mist.

2) Essential – Ultra Honey & Shea Butter 

why did I buy it? I was just starting to try out hair masks and this is the first one I got due to its cute packaging! Plus it promises light and bouncy hair.

first impressions? It didn’t give me the light and bouncy hair I was hoping for 😦

upon finishing? I was disappointed with this product. First, it didn’t give me volume. Secondly, I felt that it was too thick. It just didn’t do much for my hair but I gritted my teeth and finished it. Maybe my hair is just too dry for any hair masks to save it.

IMG_2651

3) The Body Shop – Tea Tree Oil Facial Exfoliator

why did I buy it? heard about tea tree oil supposedly being able to prevent blemishes so I thought I could give this a try.

first impressions? It is not too harsh on the skin, and the smell is not overwhelming (at least for me). It does leaves my face feeling smoother after using it.

upon finishing? I took a really long time to finish this, close to 2 years? Somehow, I used it for a while, got distracted and used other products, come back to this when I need a gentle exfoliator or when I feel like my skin keeps breaking out, and then use other products again etc. All in all, I do like this product but towards the end, I felt like it didn’t work as well as before. I wonder if it’s because my skin got used to it or it was because it got ‘old’.

4) Skinfood – Facial Water Vita-C

why did I buy it?  I was in Seoul and went a little skincare crazy at that time hurhur.

first impressions? moisturizes really well! gel moisturizers are my favorite kind of moisturizers.

upon finishing? Besides moisturizing really well, I felt that it didn’t do anything much. Also do not like the fact that it was in a container but it does seem like most moisturizers are packaged this way, sigh. One thing I must say though, I really enjoy using this on the plane so I would definitely repurchase it if my skin gets drier (now, it’s combination).

IMG_2652

5) Giorgio Armani – Armani Code (75mL)

why did I buy it? I am kind of a perfume freak so I love having different scents.

first impressions? I LOVE IT! Not too light, not too heavy, not too flowery, not too fruity. Lasts pretty well for me, but I never seem to have a problem with the lasting powers of perfumes.

upon finishing? Despite me having over ten perfumes to choose from, this is the one I wear most frequently. I have another bottle, and although I don’t use it as often now, I still love it very much 🙂

6) Estee Lauder – Double Wear Foundation (2W1 Sand 36, 30mL)

why did I buy it? I needed a heavy coverage foundation as I was breaking out badly at a time and didn’t have much confidence.

first impressions? covers really well, stayed on for a long time, control oil well too, and matches my skin perfectly!

upon finishing? towards the end, I find it too heavy because thankfully, my skin is in better condition now. I use it either as a concealer or mix it with a light bb cream for a sheerer coverage.

7) Maybelline – Babylips in Energizing Orange

why did I buy it? Got this in a goodie bag when I attended a Maybelline event previously.

first impressions? I thought I wouldn’t like this scent but I actually enjoyed it!

upon finishing? This is my second babylips and I love this product so much that I have gone out and bought 2 more when I was in LA. They are available in Singapore of course.

 

And that’s all this month! I have nothing exciting planned this month but am still looking forward to spend the holidays with T. Even if it is just chilling at home 🙂

Written by whitepaperroses

December 3, 2012 at 10:41 PM

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i love the idea of planning to “use it up” … i have SO many un-finished bottles and tubes of beauty products. Great idea.

    lindsaytirvin

    December 4, 2012 at 3:06 AM

    • oh have fun finishing up those bottles and tubes! then go out and buy more :p

      whitepaperroses

      December 4, 2012 at 5:17 PM

      • buying more will be fun! i love the idea of forcing myself to use everything up first tho (or throw away) before allowing myself to buy anything new.

        lindsaytirvin

        December 4, 2012 at 11:28 PM

  2. I should pledge to start a series like this on my blog. I always feel SO elated when I “hit pan” on anything!

    I have the same hair mask. Agreed the light & bounce isn’t there but I do like mine for brightening up my color treatment. Probably wouldn’t personally repurchase either though 🙂

    Jenny

    December 6, 2012 at 2:53 AM

    • i would love you to start a series like that and read your thoughts so please do! xx

      whitepaperroses

      December 6, 2012 at 3:54 PM


Leave a Reply

