all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

The ‘Use-it-up’ Project (14) – December Edition

leave a comment »

Hello everyone, how’s your Christmas celebrations? I stayed at home the whole day, except for heading out to dinner. Did loads of laundry because we washed the bedsheets and whatnot. Feels good to dedicate a day at home cleaning up instead of heading out and spend money! Am I getting boring already? =o

Let’s get started on this month’s empties.

IMG_2848

This month I am throwing out 7 products. Pretty good huh? I also packed away some makeup that I don’t use as often to my sister. Been clearing out quite frequently, but a little at a time so I don’t feel the pinch. I hope that in future, every item that I own are items that I love dearly and works awesome for me! Although that seems a little impossible since I love trying out new products :p

IMG_2849

1) Shiseido – Perfect Whip Cleansing Foam

why did I buy it? Read good things about it in forum so decided to pick it up during one of my Tokyo trips last year?

first impressions? cleanses really well! A little too drying for my skin though. Just a tiny bit of product is good enough for the entire face.

upon finishing? It lasted me a really long time because I only need very little product each time and I only cleanse my face at night. I actually grew to really like the product but I am currently trying out other cleansers right now, although I certainly can foresee myself picking this up again in the future!

2) TheBodyShop – Neroli Jasmin Shower Gel

why did I buy it? I picked it up during one of their sales for $12 I believe. 

Finished this before in September. Read all about it here!

3) Bath&Body Works – True Blue Spa, Grin & Bear It Body Lotion

why did I buy it? this was provided in a toiletries set when I was traveling in LA this recent Oct.

first impressions? I am featuring it only because I LOVE IT SO MUCH! The scent is a-m-a-z-i-n-g! It is not something I will pick it up myself but I really fell in love with it so much that I brought the lotion back to Singapore to finish it hahaha.

upon finishing? Described as having aloe and real orange peel extract, this is truly spa in a bottle and I will most definitely pick this up when I go to the States again. Or maybe in my future Bath&Body Works orders 😉

IMG_2850

4) Burt’s Bees – Radiance Eye Creme with royal jelly

why did I buy it? I was running out of eye cream and Jenny from sushi-cat raved about it here.

first impressions? I liked how moisturizing it was on the lids but didn’t really notice any other effects.

upon finishing? This ended up being a little too moisturizing for my eye area and I developed a milia seed (which disappeared quickly, phew). BUT I have to say that maybe it’s my problem, because once I applied less product, it worked fine. Just that it isn’t any miracle product for my eyes.

5) Clinique – Bottom Lash Mascara in Black

why did I buy it? Because it is so cute! I am a sucker for anything gimmicky unfortunately, le sigh. Trying to change!

first impressions? oooh this is fun and really easy to apply. A little extra to make my eyes bigger, always welcome.

upon finishing? It was fun while it last……..I honestly don’t apply mascara to my lashes most days as I am usually in a rush so this kind of went to waste =/ Oh well!

6) Bareminerals – Waterproof Eyeliner in 5pm 

why did I buy it? Part of a set I got last year. Read about it here!

first impressions? applies smoothly and lasts really well too. I have never been so wow-ed by a pencil liner.

upon finishing? I didn’t manage to finish it because I just can’t seem to sharpen it further. Which was very irritating. While I really like the color and formula, I have to sharpen so frequently (because it is really soft) and the stick just seems to decrease so quickly. I was also using it daily because it is so easy to use but I don’t think I will repurchase it as I can’t justify the money spent. Any recommendations for creamy eyeliners are welcome! I am currently trying out Urban Decay 😉

7) Jemma Kidd – Cheek ID Color Adapt Blush

why did I buy it? Another gimmicky product that has managed to persuade me to part with my dollars >.<

first impressions? Gives a natural glow but I can’t apply any powder to set it because it is too sticky.

upon finishing? As you can see, I still have plenty of product left but I can’t bring myself to finish it or pass it to other people because it really sucks as a product. Way too sticky and I can feel something on my cheeks after applying and blending it out -_- I had honestly expected better quality from Jemma Kidd since she is a makeup artist right? Still keen on trying out other products but I will do more research before purchasing anything from her line again!

 

And that’s all for this year! On to try and finish more products now :p

Written by whitepaperroses

December 28, 2012 at 1:45 PM

Leave a Reply

