all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

The ‘Use-it-up’ Project (19) – May Edition

with 2 comments

Currently having some wine while doing this post. I actually haven’t drank a lot recently, because they are full of empty calories.

Here’s the stuff that I used up this past month, I am still really enjoying this series! Well, I guess you can tell because this is the only series that I really make a conscious effort to maintain hahaha 😉

IMG_4244

1) Lucido-l – Hair Curl Lotion <Airy>

why did I buy it? Wanted a heat protectant

first impressions? actually till now I am still unsure on how to judge if a heat protectant works or not!

upon finishing? I have not finished this yet but I feel that it makes my hair feel stiff so I am just going to discard it. Had it for a pretty long time anyway.

2) Bioderma – Sensibio H2O

why did I buy it? my favorite makeup remover! got the one for sensitive skin one this time round.

first impressions? works the same as the one for oily skin.

upon finishing? I will repurchase this till I stop using makeup hahahah.

3) Laneige – Sliding Pact_ex Snow UV Crystal in 2 Bright Skin Tone

why did I buy it? got it as a birthday gift a long time ago! 🙂

first impressions? works pretty well as a pressed powder. love the packaging as well.

upon finishing? almost done with it, but since I have had it for so long and haven’t used it in a while I have decided to discard this as well. I probably should have done this a long time ago. Sigh, I love buying powders but the thing is, I hardly ever use powder! SMH

4) Jimmy Choo – Jimmy Choo EDT

why did I buy it? got it in one of my Bellaboxes.

first impressions? smells rather light and rather different from what I normally use.

upon finishing? Unfortunately this is not a scent that I had fallen for, so off you go! I am however eyeing a Chloe perfume though 😉

5) Korres – Evening Primrose Eye Cream

why did I buy it? wanted to try out Korres skincare since it uses mostly natural ingredients and this eye cream came as part of a kit I ordered.

first impressions? love the tube as it is more hygienic, not too thick and absorbs well.

upon finishing? I felt like this is just an average eye cream, nothing special to rave about. I really want to find something potent, to prevent fine lines and lighten my dark circles!

6) The Body Shop – Satsuma Shower Gel

why did I buy it? got it as a Christmas exchange present and I was super happy about it!

first impressions? not my first time using this and I am still loving the scent very much ❤

upon finishing? this is a travel size that I brought along for travels and I have finished it on my recent China trip. Very lovely scent and will purchase it when there is a sale of some sort for their shower gels since I have lots of shower gels/soaps to go through.

7) SKII – Facial Treatment Cleanser

why did I buy it? bought this sample sometime ago and almost forgot that I had it! been using it for the past few travels since it is a good travel size.

first impressions? love the scent and cleans really well too.

upon finishing? it does works well but I don’t think I will spare that much money right now! Maybe when I am older…….

Also, something extra this month – Decided to include 2 candles as well as these 2 are the candles that I had really grown to love!

IMG_4295

8) Franc Franc – Candle in Spa Serenity 

why did I buy it? there’s a 20% off I believe and I believe that one can never have enough candles.

first impressions? at the store, I picked this scent up as an afterthought among other scents but when I got home and burned it, it SMELLED SO GOOD! Like it became my favorite out of the rest.

upon finishing? Definitely will be heading back to purchase it if I am in the area!

9) Yankee Candle – Beach Walk

why did I buy it? smells very light, and suitable as a day scent.

first impressions? love it! Very subtle as it only has 1 wick, but it does makes the whole area smells so good and cheers me up.

upon finishing? have already gotten a small one in the same scent, and a big one in ‘Sun and Sand’. Am really liking all the lighter and refreshing scents recently ❤

 

Now that wasn’t too bad at all for this month. Also takes off the guilt of doing a little too much shopping recently, and I foresee for the month to come because of the many sales going on!

For now, I know Neiman Marcus, Saks, Nordstrom, Ssense and Forward by Elyse Walker are having a sale event. Eagerly waiting for Net-a-porter Asia’s sale to be ready.Please let me know if you come across any good sales, thank you! xx

Written by whitepaperroses

June 1, 2013 at 11:53 PM

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like the mini-review type structure to this post! None of my Yankee candles have got to the bottom yet, the strong fruity scents i picked give me a headache after about 10 minutes!! I should go for a lighter scent like the one you had maybe! X

    unrealisticlipstick

    June 3, 2013 at 7:58 AM

    • thank you! yes you totally should go for their lighter scents, it smells really good and their candles last a pretty long time too (as compared to BBW).

      whitepaperroses

      June 3, 2013 at 11:13 PM


Leave a Reply

