all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

The ‘Use-it-up’ Project (24) – October Edition

leave a comment »

Last week has gotta be one of the craziest weeks I ever had with the trainings and meetings but I am thankful that it is over and I get to rest on this Monday.

I kinda miss the days when I was on my half year break from work, and could just jet to anywhere I like whenever. And everyday is my own time instead of some other’s. The perils of being an adult.

Anyhow, here are the products I finished in October.

IMG_5078

1) St Ives – Apricot Scrub  

why did I buy it? I read some good reviews about it so I thought I could give this a go.

first impressions? it seems too rough for my skin so I stopped using it for a while, but after a hiatus my skin seemed to be ok with it.

upon finishing? it does exfoliate pretty well but I read that this is quite a harsh scrub (not because of the chemicals but more of the beads used) so it might not be suitable for very sensitive skin. I used it once-twice a week on days that I am not using my clarisonic. Don’t think I will repurchase this though, since I am trying my best to stay away from harsh exfoliating products!

2) The Body Shop – Banana Banane Shampoo   

why did I buy it? Elle from Allthatglitters21 raved about it before so I thought I could give it a go.

first impressions? cleanses pretty well, but leaves my hair a little dry. smell is also just normal, not as great as she claims it to be.

upon finishing? definitely won’t be a repurchase for me but I am keen to try out more shampoos rather than the usual Dove that I’ve been using for the past 2 years.

3) Simple – Eye Make-Up Remover    

why did I buy it? Since I don’t do crazy eye makeup often these days, I thought I would switch to a less intensive eye makeup remover.

first impressions? it is really gentle and doesn’t sting my eyes at all! it also doesn’t leave a oily residue like waterproof makeup removers tend to do so.

upon finishing? most of the times, it is able to remove my eye makeup decently except for a Too Faced Waterproof eyeliner. but I do like it enough to have already purchased a second bottle.

4) Boots – Soft & Sheer Tinted Moisturizer, SPF 15    

why did I buy it? wow I bought this a really long time ago but I think it’s also because I saw good online reviews about this.

first impressions? it really does a good job of blurring out imperfections, giving you a very natural skin look.

upon finishing? I do like it but it took me so long to finish it (besides the fact that I have 101 base products lying around) is that I only used it on Sundays. I probably wouldn’t repurchase it since I don’t use tinted moisturizer that often, and will use a BB cream in replacement of this product.

5) Soap & Glory – The Daily Smooth Body Butter   

why did I buy it? Got this travel size body butter as a Christmas gift last year! 🙂

first impressions? smells really good, but takes a little effort to spread this around since it is rather thick.

upon finishing? don’t think I will purchase this myself as I prefer lotions that is slightly thinner but I have got to say, this moisturizes really well!

IMG_5079

6) Korres – Cleansing and Makeup Remover Wipes (Milk Proteins)    

why did I buy it? Because Korres is one of the more natural brands out there so I really want to try some of their products.

first impressions? it does a decent job of removing makeup but I prefer my Simple Cleansing Wipes due to the texture of the wipes. Simple has a slight exfoliating texture to their wipes.

upon finishing? probably wouldn’t repurchase this unless there is a deal on ASOS! 😉

Anyone else looking forward to Christmas already?

Written by whitepaperroses

November 4, 2013 at 10:22 PM

Leave a Reply

