all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

The ‘Use-it-up’ Project (32) – June Edition

leave a comment »

Been crazy busy for the past month since taking care of a baby alone is no joke. I used to think that it will be easy peasy, since all babies do is eat sleep poop right? WRONG. There’s burping, playing, rocking her to sleep which takes up a ridiculous amount of time fml but I will not succumb to a yaolan, doing her laundry, while trying to get my hygiene and meals in order wtf.

Have been doing this post in bits and pieces and am glad that at least it isn’t going up too late. Only the second of July today! *pats self*

20140626_130213_1

1) thisworks – in transit, no traces

why did I buy it? always on the lookout to try new makeup wipes since I go through them so quickly!

first impressions? it has a strong sweet scent (on the packaging it says Rosewater and Water Mint Infused pads) and is very wet. Cleanses really well, though I have to use two pieces instead of the usual one piece because the size is smaller than other wipes.

upon finishing? I really did enjoy using this and wouldn’t mind purchasing this again if it goes on sale on ASOS since it is rather pricey at around sgd$41.80.

2) L’Occitane – Pivoine Flora Shower Gel 

why did I buy it? got this in a set of goodies I got in L’Occitane while I was in the states for my honeymoon. That was almost 2 years ago and I finally got around to using it!

first impressions? the smell isn’t something that I would usually go for, and it feels like an average shower gel but slightly thicker.

upon finishing? Don’t think I will repurchase unless I come across a scent that I can’t resist.

3) Simple – Soothing Facial Toner

why did I buy it? since I enjoyed the Simple makeup removing wipes so much, I decided to try more of their products!

first impressions? It has a strong witch hazel scent that threw me off when I first used it, but it is really gentle on my skin. I used it at night after I get out of the shower.

upon finishing? I got used to the smell and thought that it is a good basic toner. I may or may not repurchase this, because I am considering getting a softener instead so that my nighttime skincare can be absorbed even better.

4) Sephora Lipstick

why did I buy it? on a whim I guess, got this so long ago!

first impressions? I remembered enjoying this as it had a fruity scent and applies smoothly. However, since it is a dark color, I didn’t get a chance to use it as much as I would like to.

upon finishing? As you can see, I still have quite a bit left but like I said, I don’t use it much and it has been so long since I had it so I decided to throw it out. Planning to do some more purging in the upcoming months!

5) Lip Scrub

why did I buy it? got this in Tokyo few years back in a shop called Ranking Queen. It was ranked as one of the top sellers so I thought I would give this a try.

first impressions? it is rather thick and not rough at all. after washing it off, I feel like there’s a layer of moisture on my lips. tastes really sweet as well haha.

upon finishing? again I did not finish this product because I am not diligent about using it. But since I have it for so long already, I decided to toss this out. Currently using Fresh’s lip scrub instead 🙂

6) Aqualabel – White Up EX

why did I buy it? ever since last year, I decided to incorporate serums into my night time skincare routine as I was a quarter of a century old already. So I saw this on sale and thought of giving this a go as Aqualabel is a drugstore version of Shiseido.

first impressions? I like how it absorbs into the skin really quickly.

upon finishing? I am not sure of the whitening effect since much of my skincare is preventive so I guess we shall see if my routine works in the years to come. Overall I did enjoy the product as it was easy to use because of the pump and very lightweight. However, I didn’t manage to finish every mL of it since the pump couldn’t get everything out. Am not too concerned since this is not an expensive product.

 

Hope to be able to blog more in July!

Written by whitepaperroses

July 2, 2014 at 3:28 PM

Leave a Reply

