all I ever wanted…

about my travelogues, adventures in life, fashion, beauty and the occasional rambling.

My email to Pandora Jewelry

with 26 comments

Recently, I had an extremely unpleasant experience at a Pandora Jewelry outlet. I had sent an email to them but there’s no response so I have decided to post it on my blog to remind myself never to go back there and to warn other people about their bad customer service.

*************************

Dear Anne,

I came across your email on Pandora’s website when I was looking for an avenue to feedback my recent experience at one of Pandora’s outlets (the one at Ion Orchard).

Before I start, I must say that I have always liked Pandora because its charms are lovely and provides some form of customization, yet it does not look tacky. I enjoyed wearing my bracelet everyday and get compliments often. And because I wear it often, I do try to get it polished at the shop every few months. I am happy that Pandora has more outlets as compared to the past but I go to Ion Orchard more often as it is close to where I stay.

On 26 December (just this past Wednesday), I went to Ion for dinner with friends and I made a point to deposit my bracelet first as I know it will take more than one hour before they can polish my bracelet and hand it back to me (is it even normal to take more than one hour?!).

I reached the store with my friend around 650pm and all the store’s assistants were busy with customers. I stood near the counter and Shida (on her tag, and it says store manager) acknowledged me and asked me to wait while she served other customers. I didn’t even get a chance to tell her that I just want to drop off my bracelet for polishing. So I waited while she served 2 customers. Meanwhile, she did not even ask me what my intention was but she did manage to juggle 2 separate customers showing both of them charms and what not.

After 20 minutes, the second customer finally made her purchase and left. I suspect that she wants to keep me waiting and hopefully my patience runs out and she won’t have to deal with me as I already took off my bracelet and was patiently waiting for her to attend to me while chatting with my friend.

Anyway, she actually asked me to continue waiting as she wanted to serve another customer that her colleague was juggling! At that time, as I mentioned, I already had my bracelet off and I would think that my intention was quite obvious (to have it polished!).

I couldn’t wait any longer as we were meeting other friends for dinner so I told her that I just want to leave it for cleaning and told her that she can take her time as I am going off for dinner. She grudgingly said ok, BUT I would have to come back tomorrow to collect it. At the moment, I was shocked and repeated that it was ok for me to come back late and collect at the end of the day. Her explanation was that there were a lot of customers so she won’t have the time to polish today.

Again is it even normal practice to ask customers to come back tomorrow? Why not ask the current customers to come back tomorrow to browse?

So Anne, my question to you, is serving a new customer (who may not even give you a sale) more important than serving an existing customer who has already purchased and more likely to purchase more charms in future?

I tried to maintain my stand that I wanted it to be polished by tonight and do you know what your store manager told me? “If you really want, I can ask my intern to polish but it will not be as clean”. First, if she has to spare someone, is it necessary for her to emphasize that I can only get an intern to clean it? Secondly, is she threatening me by saying that my bracelet won’t be as clean but because I insisted on it so she has no choice but to do a hasty job?

Same question again, so new customers deserve a fully qualified person to serve them but an existing customer can’t even manage to secure someone to sit down for ten minutes to polish her bracelet? In addition, serving a new customer will most definitely take more than ten minutes! Surely you can understand my disappointment and frustration.

In the end, I gave up arguing with her as I am very upset and do not want to spoil my mood for dinner with friends later on.

Usually, I would let unpleasant experiences pass and not hold a grudge but this is not the first time I have experienced such bad attitude from this outlet’s staff. I cannot remember when the other times were but this is the most recent one. The other times were also not as extreme (but still a bad experience!).

This has left a bad taste and I would most definitely not be heading back to this particular outlet, or even in Singapore since I can get Pandora elsewhere too. I will also not recommend my friends to get anything from Pandora if I had known that the after-service would be so sub-standard (although I don’t seem to have any issues with other outlets)

Maybe it’s time to focus some of the marketing efforts on training your service staff instead.

I sincerely hope that you will take my feedback into serious consideration and do something about it.

Thank you for your attention.

Regards
Ashlyne

*************************

If you have made it to the end, kudos to you! Say no to bad customer service, we should speak up more often 🙂

Written by whitepaperroses

January 17, 2013 at 7:38 PM

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think their customer service is horrendous. I no longer shop there, and will never shop there again. The price of a completed bracelet is expensive (you might as well invest it into something else worth while). We deserve better customer service.

    Les

    March 25, 2013 at 8:52 AM

    • IKR! their PR actually contacted me and did some service recovery so my experience wasn’t all bad. however, I agree with you on the cost. right now, I do have quite a bit of charms already so I won’t be purchasing until something really special catches my eye!

      whitepaperroses

      March 25, 2013 at 8:48 PM

  2. I googled something about pandora and chanced upon your blog post. The service at ion orchard pandora is really horrible. I’ve experienced it myself and your post kinda just confirmed it. They are many people shopping at Pandora these days and they are do not have enough staff. They always give u the look like they just can’t be bothered with you. Nowadays their outlets are all so busy that it’s hard to get them to do polishing for u too~

    Nicole

    October 26, 2013 at 10:25 PM

    • try the outlet at mbs! at least it’s not that crowded 🙂 now I can’t really be bothered to shop at pandora at all anymore haha…

      whitepaperroses

      October 26, 2013 at 11:25 PM

      • Hi, I tried to email them as well and did not get a reply. May i know how did you get them to reply you? I am extremely unhappy with the bracelet i got and was not allowed to exchange it since i exchanged it once due to the length. The store was crowded and they did not let me check the bracelet and just got me to sign the receipt. Shouldn’t have been so careless 😦

        sh

        December 19, 2013 at 6:45 PM

      • they only replied to me after I blogged about this. sorry to hear about your terrible experience 😦 try going to other outlets or go during non-peak hours? xx

        whitepaperroses

        December 19, 2013 at 10:42 PM

      • ok 😦 Thank you for replying.

        sh

        December 20, 2013 at 3:37 PM

  3. Whats their email? I have just encountered a terrible service yesterday. The only email I can find is their headquarter in HKG. Don’t mind sending to them though.

    I have called them yesterday too but they have yet to revert.

    Wana

    December 31, 2013 at 10:28 AM

  4. Hello i googled pandora’s customer service and chanced upon your blog! i experienced a really bad customer service too at the store in tampines mall and i really don’t want the staffs there to get away with it. do you mind giving me their email because i can’t find it

    Youna

    January 19, 2014 at 9:28 AM

    • sorry i missed your comment! unfortunately i can’t locate that email address anymore 😦 i hope you will be able to find some alternative outlet to make your voice heard!

      whitepaperroses

      January 27, 2014 at 9:25 PM

  5. Hey! I came on 14th Feb and it was a whole lot of people. Service was just average, 4/10 with no basic manners like, “Thank you”, “Sorry to keep you waiting” etc. They should have a system, i.e how many customers can they tend to at one time etc. They know Pandora is hot-selling at the moment, be it good service or not people will still buy. But they forgot, we are the people who contributes to their sales and eventually their pay.

    myra

    March 11, 2014 at 6:39 AM

    • ahh, i guess one year later they still have not improved their customer service after all!

      whitepaperroses

      March 17, 2014 at 5:18 PM

      • I just had a horrible experience with pandora the other day, when I decided to add a charm to my bracelet. An intern attended to me and when she tried to lay out the beads on the silver stick it, she accidentally dropped all the charms including my murano beads. It broke, I got really upset I didnt have the chance to think through anymore if the charm I purchased is something I really like. They replaced it but the size is already different from the original she thatbroke and they only have 1 piece left!
        After I went home and check on my purchase im really so upset with the entire experience. I didnt like the charms I got. What kind of experience is it to go home and be upset because of the shoppinh experience.

        so I decided to go to raffle city to have it exchanged. The attendants were so busy and the guy who attended to me was justso uninterested and didnt even bother to connect the charms to my bracelet. The i asked him if i can exchange the murano bead that was given to me as a replacement he said he needs a receipt. When i pointed to him 2 entries on the receipt he said its just free cleaning cloth. Then i said i dont have any free cleaning cloth they didnt give me any. He just ignore me. Mind you I didnt even get to choose the one I have shown me is all I got to as a replacement. I felt like I was bullied the entire time. I really regret getting a pandora bracelet because of this entire experience. I should have listened to my husband and stick to tiffany. He really refuse to buy me a pandora. Now that I have my own all I can share to him is my horrible experience.
        Could you share to me the email address where I can complain about this nightmare. I refuse to just sit and forget about this experience without even being heard.

        Thank you.
        Mick.villota@gmail.com

        mick

        March 21, 2014 at 1:31 AM

      • I finally saw the email address it is different per branch

        mick

        March 21, 2014 at 2:07 AM

      • sorry to hear about your horrible experience and I hope someone has gotten back to you about it! I agree with your husband, stick to Tiffany’s! or even local designers – you get unique pieces and good service!

        whitepaperroses

        March 23, 2014 at 2:29 PM

  6. I recently went to the Pandora in Westfield Mall in Stratford and my experience was dreadful. I was returning a charm that I got as a gift and wanted to give another , the salesperson was so rude and acted like I was stealing. I am sad because I like the jewelry, but will not be returning to that store, they should be ashamed.

    Cam Poppeelee

    September 6, 2014 at 3:38 PM

    • they are really the worst in Customer Service. I am so disgusted with them i plan to sell my bracelet. its gathering dust now in the drawer. My blood boils just looking at it, thats why its not being sold yet. LOL

      Mick

      September 14, 2014 at 12:08 AM

  7. dear whitepaperroses,

    I had an equally horrible experience too with the same staff, Shida, that you had. This time round it was at the branch at Westgate. Similarly, she had kept me waiting for more than 20 minutes saying she has to serve the customer before me first, which I agreed, I mean it was only fair. But after ringing him up, she turned away from me to attend to another customer. I was very very annoyed, especially seeing that she was the store supervisor on top of that. There was another staff named Louis that was horrible too, giving the “I can’t be bothered to attend to you” attitude when I tried approaching him to assist me with the same thing that Shida, his supervisor, had snided me of.

    Pandora do have such lovely charms, but it’s a shame to have such horrible customer service for such a purported brand.

    WishingStars

    February 12, 2015 at 8:15 PM

    • oh dear I am really sorry to hear that! Can’t believe this staff is still around. I hope you will be able to reach out to a corporate staff of Pandora to feedback your bad experience.

      whitepaperroses

      March 10, 2015 at 9:10 PM

  8. Today is the worst shopping experience I had over in Singapore at pandora…Goshhhhh I will never patronize Bugis outlet again…the old auntie who served me is jus too Wooooow to my surprise…I can’t imagine how can such a big company hire this kind of service standard….she definitely have go for a course management on how to serve the customer…manager somehow is what unbelievable to me….Goshhhhh….

    Sam

    April 18, 2016 at 11:28 PM

    • Hi Sam, sorry to hear that you had experienced bad service there! can’t believe they still have bad service after such a considerable time in Singapore.

      whitepaperroses

      April 20, 2016 at 12:42 PM

  9. Hi…I would like to share my equally horrendous experience at Pandora iON Orchard. I had sent in my Pandora bracelet and charms for the 5th time, all for the same issue – the charms were stuck on the bracelet and I could not remove them. This last 5th time was terrible – Pandora called to say the jewellery had been repaired. When I picked the jewellery up, not only was it not repaired, it was in a total state of disrepair – 3 of my 5 charms had been forcefully extricated, rough at the edges and sides – I pointed it out to the staff, and they were just “oh, is it – we’ll check”. After checking, they claimed that I had tempered with the jewellery, and hence the warranty was void, and it was entirely up to Pandora’s call to repair or not. Now why would I, a customer, damage my own jewellery (???!!) – to bring the jewellery in for so many calls for repair is frustrating enough, let alone “damage” it?? was simply too absurd.

    I brought this case to court, and essentially Pandora insisted that because of wear and tear, they were at liberty to not repair. And because of wear and tear, they claimed the problem was pre-existing, and thus not subject to repair. So, Pandora left the court, scot-free, with nary a loss on their end.

    What is repair in the normal course of the word? Is it not to put things to a state fit for use? For Pandora to assert that “repair” equates “removal” of charms is simply disingenuous, and says everything – Pandora does not give a hoot about customers.

    Where is justice?? For such a large organization as Pandora to hide behind disclaimer clauses, and for them to just blindside people??

    NEVER again will I patronise Pandora. And I hope justice will be served, whether in my time or not.

    J

    January 6, 2017 at 8:16 PM

    • I am so sorry to hear about that! Unfortunately they are still a very popular brand, but if their bad service continue, I believe their popularity will start to go down. I just can’t stand the fact that we are paying such a high price for this kind of service!

      whitepaperroses

      January 26, 2017 at 5:35 PM

    • Sorry to hear about your bad experience. I have never worn my Pandora again. And never even glanced at any of their shop at all. Their customer service and sales agents attitude really sucks.

      Mick Soe (BrazoDeMercedes)

      January 26, 2017 at 6:04 PM


Leave a comment